Reviews



Welcoming and friendly - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed 2 nights at The Rusty Anchor. Our room was comfortable and clean, breakfast excellent and Jan makes you feel very welcome and relaxed. Easy walking distance into town centre and roadside parking available outside guest house.

Reviewer:bag I | Sun 2nd Dec 2018 | 9 months ago


Warm welcome at the Rusty Anchor! - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed staying at the Rusty Anchor. Although we were too early for check-in we could already bring our luggage to our room. We had a comfortable room with sea-view. Breakfast was exellent. We felt comfortable and relaxed. We would have liked to stay longer!

Reviewer:Alfons W | Mon 1st Oct 2018 | 11 months ago


September 2018 - Rating 4/5

Convenient and relaxed overnight stay for our son's graduation ceremony the next day.

Reviewer:Neil M | Thu 20th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Comfortable and friendly - Rating 5/5

The accommodation was easy to find and is situated in a quiet, elegant area. Room 2 had all normal facilities and I had a good night's sleep. The breakfast was good and the proprietor was friendly and helpful. Number 25 bus stops nearby.

Reviewer:Susan D | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


A good base for exploring Plymouth - Rating 4/5

Had lovely 3 night stay, with hostess,Jan,giving us warm welcome and much helpful info about the city. Breakfast was very good and our room okay. I think we got the last available room,which was comfortable but decor in need of make-over.

Reviewer:Bruce R | Wed 12th Sep 2018 | 1 year ago


Rusty Anchor Review- Rating 5/5

Warm welcome, comfortable and clean rooms, lovely breakfast. Very good all round would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:Mrs. KathrynJ | Mon 20th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Rusty Anchor - Rating 4/5

Very comfortableExcellent location from which to view the fireworks,

Reviewer:Mary V | Sat 11th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Wish we could have stayed longer! - Rating 5/5

(From clients Brian and Kathy)We loved the Guest House.We wished we could have stayed much longer.Kathy and I said that we could have stayed at least 5 nights as there was so much to do in Plymouth.We greatly appreciated her opening her place to us.

Reviewer:Rowena D | Fri 10th Aug 2018 | 1 year ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Excellent hotel, one of our favourites in Plymouth. Lovely location and great service. Doggy friendly

Reviewer:Yorick O | Tue 17th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


Friendly knowledgable host - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Rusty Anchor on the 14th July. I sent a personal request to have a sea view as it was our 5th anniversary which was done when we arrived. We could not have been made to feel more welcome. Our host was lovely. She was knowledgable about the local area &norhing was too much of a problem. Our only regret was we could not stay longer. Can not thank the Rusty Anchor more for the way she made us feel at home. Thank you so much for a short but memorable trip. We will keep you in mind the next time we come back to Plymouth.Perfect place, perfect location &a gracious host make this a 5 star rating.

Reviewer:Robert T | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 1 year ago


The B & B - Rating 5/5

Jan at the Rusty Anchor is a very welcoming lady very good food and very comfortable and clean well recommended. Steve and Sue

Reviewer:Stephen P | Tue 26th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


endroit à recommander - Rating 5/5

très bonne adresse ! on est reçu à bras ouverts par Jane, une charmante anglaise. La chambre est très bien et c'est très bien placé;à recommander!

Reviewer:Claire d | Sat 16th Jun 2018 | 1 year ago


5 days of site clearance. - Rating 4/5

Lovely warm welcome and subsequent care from our hostess Jan, who made us feel we were staying with a friend rather than a commercial enterprise. Missed 5 stars as would have preferred a bath rather than a shower after hard day's work clearing out a derelict property prior to builders starting.

Reviewer:Dr. James H | Thu 9th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Recent visit - Rating 5/5

This is the second visit to stay for a few days and have enjoyed it again. Jan is a lovely host who makes us and our Poodle welcome. The Rooms are a decent size, comfortable and clean.

Reviewer:Christopher G | Thu 26th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Rusty Anchor, Plymouth - Rating 4/5

Very friendy host and excellent meals.Room was clean and comfortable, ensuite was a bit cramped.

Reviewer:Vaughn a | Sun 17th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

All good! Rooms, service and breakfasts.

Reviewer:Richard M | Thu 7th Sep 2017 | 2 years ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Clean, best sea-view, close to centre, just great

Reviewer:Andreas N | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant stay ! - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Rusty Anchor went really well ! Very well situated, in the best part of Plymouth. Great room in the uppest level and excellent breakfast ! Thank you Jan...

Reviewer:falourd j | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 2 years ago


A taste of english hospitality - Rating 5/5

Jan is a very hospitable hostess. Very nice house and confortable room. We appreciated cleanliness

Reviewer:Mr. Pierdomenico B | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 2 years ago


Staying with the family - Rating 5/5

We came as a family and it felt like home. We enjoyed our stay very much. Everything is within walking distance. We parked directly at the door. But most important was the warm welcome we received from the lady who runs the business. She helped us finding a parking space on Armed Forces Day when everything was crowded and had Nutella ready for breakfast ( made our daughter happy). We appreciated the family room with a separate child room.

Reviewer:Heike F | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 2 years ago


A good place to visit Plymouth - Rating 4/5

Our guest was very welcoming and the room was perfect. It's easy to go to the city center from the guest house by foot. The breakfast is served in a bright room on the ground floor and was great! A free parking in the street was given for the night by our guest, which was very helpful. It was a good stay in Plymouth!

Reviewer:Mrs. Emilie M | Mon 29th May 2017 | 2 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Jan was fabulous from the get go - kind and considerate and excellent with our kids (4+2).She even did some washing for us when we got soaked on the beach! The top adjoining rooms are super for a family, bunk beds for the kids and an adjoining room with en-suite for the adults.Couldn't fault it.

Reviewer:Adam T | Sun 23rd Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Nuce Guest House - Rating 4/5

Nice Guest HouseCentral to everything. Easy parking and by the harbour. Would stay again.

Reviewer:PETER W | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


100% - many thanks - Rating 5/5

Perfect in every way.

Reviewer:Liz C | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Great place - Rating 5/5

Great place to stay, excellent location. Jan was so lovely and thoughtful.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mia M | Tue 3rd Jan 2017 | 2 years ago


A slice of heaven- Rating 5/5

Relaxing,friendly and comfortable. Everything you want in a B&B. I would wholeheartedly recommend.

Reviewer:Wendy B | Mon 21st Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great host - Rating 5/5

what a wonderfulstay !Thank you

Reviewer:Stephen D | Mon 7th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Married Couple with teenage daughter - Rating 4/5

We had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay. Good location and Jan made us very welcome.

Reviewer:Jayne H | Thu 27th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Clean and friendly b&b - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely one night stay at this b&b.The adjoining family room was a nice touch. Room was clean and warm and the beds comfortable. Breakfast set us up nicely for the day, we would stay here again.,

Reviewer:Kevin H | Mon 24th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

Jan is always so welcoming. My late arrival was no problem. Lovely comfy bed, clean and chic rooms. Breakfast room is delightful, Jan cooks delicious b'fast in open plan kitchen.Really super find.

Reviewer:Ms. Diane G | Fri 14th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Graduation Stay - Rating 5/5

Nine of us took over this lovely B&B for the night and had a lovely stay in Plymouth. Our second stay here was welcoming as ever. Thank you.

Reviewer:Nicola W | Thu 29th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


lovely Guest house - Rating 5/5

Great location for my graduation, lovely guest house and great food. Would recommend to anyone staying in Plymouth

Reviewer:Anne B | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Mid week 2 night stay - Rating 5/5

I came to Plymouth for an occasion and booked on line as the Rusty Anchor was near the venue. Very warm welcome from Jan and an enjoyable stay. Excellent breakfast, room very suitable. Jan very accommodating. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Margaret F | Sun 25th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Very welcoming - Rating 5/5

Lovely owner very cheerful and very helpful. Great breakfast too. Nothing seems to be too much trouble.

Reviewer:Brian H | Thu 22nd Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Renewing friendships - Rating 4/5

Ideally situated. Made very welcome. Small compact room,good shower, excellent breakfast and lovely host . Would stay again.

Reviewer:Mr. Noel D | Wed 21st Sep 2016 | 3 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

What can i say,perfect!i would recommend this guest house 100% owner-kind,welcoming,friendly,helpful,lovely lady.food perfect,room clean and fresh.busoness or pleasure,i would definately stay ther whenever i am in plymouth again.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew F | Mon 29th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


outstanding - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night and booked the family room. The place was easy to find, parked outside and right on the seafront. Our room was lovely and the childrens room attached. The host is lovely and couldn't do more, we had fantastic breakfast the next morning and really enjoyed staying here. This is a superb B and B in the best traditions of seaside towns, great house, great host and great location.

Reviewer:John B | Sun 28th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


perfect - Rating 5/5

Jan is a lovely hostess, we felt warmly welcomed, and perfectly relaxed being in her home which is beautifully decorated,comfortable and clean. Easy parking and a bus stop near by. A lovely quiet location yet still close to restaurants.

Reviewer:Malcolm W | Fri 26th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


A wonderful B&B in Plymouth - Rating 5/5

We (2 adults &2 teens) had a wonderful stay in Jan's Rusty Anchor. There was a spacious family room for us with a door in between so that it felt like two separate rooms. Everything in the house let us fell comfortable - most of all of course Jan - the guest house keeper - who cared a lot and gave a lot of valuable tips. And her breakfast is great! We enjoyed the stay and wished we would have had more time in the Rusty Anchor!

Reviewer:Stephanie H | Wed 24th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Everything was perfect - Rating 5/5

Everything was perfect.We are very grateful for the excellent hospitality.Grand Parade also is a super location and the Hoe was brilliant for walking Emily.Thank you!John and Madeleine

Reviewer:Mr. John H | Tue 23rd Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


2 day break- Rating 5/5

Me and my partner had a fantastic stay , we were made to feel very welcome , everything was clean and tidy and breakfast was cooked to perfection , we are looking forward to coming back very soon ,

Reviewer:Rebecca G | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Great b@b - Rating 5/5

Very nice clean friendly b&b. Can't wait to stay again next year.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Plymouth- Rating 5/5

It Was an excellent staying because the owner was very kind and the guest house isclean and comfortable. The location is fantastic.Grazie siamo stati benissimo e sicuramente lo consiglieremo

Reviewer:SILVIA M | Thu 11th Aug 2016 | 3 years ago


Very Pleasant - Rating 4/5

A lovely relaxed atmosphere. The room was comfortable but with rather limited storage space. The owner is very friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was very good

Reviewer:Simon B | Tue 26th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great location, clean and comfortable guest house Accomodation- Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight on a family two day trip to Plymouth. We were made to feel welcome by Jay the owner and enjoyed a good comfortable stay and an excellent breakfast. Located in the heart of West Hoe, ideal for visiting he Cafes and restaurants nearby and also on the edge of the Hoe and a short walk to City shopping centre and the Barbican. Our room was clean and comfortable for family of five. Jay the owner was very helpful and informative. Would definitely stay again next time we visit Plymouth.

Reviewer:Jon M | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Nice location - Rating 4/5

Very nice, friendly, small room

Reviewer:Irene L | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Holiday - Rating 4/5

乾淨、整潔、實惠。位置也不錯。房東老太服務熱情細緻。

Reviewer:Jie C | Sat 16th Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay!! - Rating 5/5

Had a great stay. The hotel was excellent and the facilities were great. Had a delicious breakfast. The highlight was our host, Jan. She was brilliant and we wished we could stay longer.

Reviewer:Aaron P | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay again - Rating 5/5

Nice, clean and very friendly, great breakfast and perfect location near to the Hoe. Not a far walk into the city centre and only a few meters to the waterfront.

Reviewer:Miss. Jasmine N | Tue 28th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Great time - Rating 5/5

Charming place, great hospitality. Highly recommanded.

Reviewer:Guillaume F | Fri 24th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Ideal B & B, that welcomes a dog in the party. - Rating 4/5

Great location, in what surprised me as a much bigger city than I expected. Good walks nearby and places to eat. Dogs get extra sausage for breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan Q | Mon 13th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely view - Rating 4/5

Lovely cosy room, would of preferred child's bed in same room instead of joining room,excellent breakfast

Reviewer:Paula W | Sat 4th Jun 2016 | 3 years ago


a very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

nous sommes arrivés tard le soir directement du ferry à pied , la propriétaire était très souriante et gentille, idem pour le petit dej anglais à souhait ! elle nous a conseillé sur les balades à faire et nous avons pu revenir en fin d'après midi reprendre nos valises avec un teatime très apprécié:à refaire, nous avons vraiment passé un très bon séjour.

Reviewer:ANNE P | Sun 1st May 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely time. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely time at the Rusty Anchor. Jan, the owner was very welcoming and accomodating. Our family room had views of the sea and with the sun streaming in was so cosy. The room had a seperate bedroom off it, with a single bed and it's own tv, which was perfect for our daughter. The en suite was just right too and Jan had put lovely little touches to the room like cath kidston mugs and beside reading. The beds were very comfy and the room was warm and felt like a home from home. The english breakfast was delicious, and my daughter ate faster than I've ever seen! Jan gave us really good tips for local places to visit and was very accommodating of my husband who ran the half marathon during our stay. I would highly recommend staying here, we left feeling like we'd stayed with family. We will definitely book again if we stay in Plymouth.

Reviewer:Hayley R | Wed 20th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Friendly comfortable and with nice location - Rating 4/5

The proprietor is very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was great, and the rooms just what was needed. Comfortable and clean, not amazingly modern and sparkling - but adequate. Location is nice to be close to the seaside and an easy walk to the old town and area round the quayside.

Reviewer:H | Mon 18th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Pre-ferry stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent b&b, clean, comfortable, good facilities &very friendly landlady. Perfectly placed for the ferry port and within walking distance of a great restaurant/bar for the evening before.

Reviewer:Dr. simon g | Sat 9th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


1 night stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely B&B. Basic room, but everything we needed and a great breakfast.Thankyou.

Reviewer:Pamela B | Mon 14th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


first holiday for gladys the pup! - Rating 5/5

Going to a new place for the first time can be a little daunting . . . . However, young gladys and her owners were welcomed into the folds of the lovely and rather quirky "rusty anchor"by Jan.The moment young gladys was through the door she was off the lead exploring. She had so much fun and excitement that the following morning she was struggling to keep her pretty eyes open at breakfast(even with a yummy sausage in front of her!) Gladys says that the only negative thing about her fabulous stay was that her mummy should have booked more nights there to have more fun!!

Reviewer:Mrs. Hanburrus| Sat 12th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for our lovely stay. very comfortable and welcoming. We loved our breakfast and the location was perfect for visiting the Pavillions and a lovely walk along the Hoe.

Reviewer:Mrs. Nadia R | Sat 12th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

Just had a great stay at the Rusty Anchor, From walking in to walking out we were made to feel very welcome, including our Weimaraner. The bedroom was small but very comfortable and contained everything needed for the stay.Breakfast was lovely and enough to set you up for the day. We would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark s | Mon 29th Feb 2016 | 3 years ago


nice location - Rating 4/5

Nice little b&b clean good location for Barbican, breakfast was lovely cheers.

Reviewer:Ms. kim p | Sun 6th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Very good indeed - Rating 5/5

Travelling with a one year old, every effort was made by the proprietor to make sure our stay was a good one. We were extremely well catered for &we will be returning.

Reviewer:Alan C | Fri 30th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Rusty Anchor just right - Rating 5/5

Friendly comfortable and great spot.Thank you for a nice stay.

Reviewer:Mark C | Wed 2nd Sep 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent site. - Rating 5/5

The rusty anchor gueat house is a brilliant place to stay. The owner and keeper of the guest house was extremely polite and very nice. The place is around 5 minute walk to the scenic plymouth hoe and is in a very convinient location. The parking is cheap at 2 pound per day with it being free after 4pm until 10am the next day. The rooms were large and are looked after with a large detail. Thebreakfast offered a good choice of meals. I would deffinately recommend the venue to anyone looking at a great holiday in the area.

Reviewer:Aldona J | Sat 29th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

a nice welcome from Jan.The beds and pillows are very comfortable in our pleasant room.A lovely breakfast.Jan even cooked us two perfectly boiled eggs!A very enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Neville B | Sun 23rd Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Comfortable and homely- Rating 4/5

Had a lovely stay and a very comfortable night. Made to feel welcone and a good breakfast. Would stay here again.

Reviewer:Diane G | Sat 15th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Great location. Room clean and comfortable. Tasty breakfast. Host very welcoming. Would stay again.

Reviewer:Elaine W | Sun 9th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Perfect - like by Mum! - Rating 5/5

Alles war perfekt. Toller Aufenthalt. Wie fühlten uns wi bei Mama :-)Liebe Grüße aus Deutschland

Reviewer:Sandy G | Sat 8th Aug 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent value and situation - Rating 5/5

A huge room in a lovely house, tasty breakfast, friendly service, and a location second to none on Plymouth's seafront;I'd recommend this place both for tourism and business.

Reviewer:Dr. Trevor D | Wed 8th Jul 2015 | 4 years ago


Very nice - Rating 5/5

Very lovely place. Owner was very friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, comfortable and quiet and the big fried breakfast was delicious! If I'm ever in Plymouth again, I know where I'll be staying.

Reviewer:Jasmine N | Mon 29th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 4/5

Had a very enjoyable stay at the Rusty Anchor.Jan was very welcoming and made a spledid breakfast! Would definitely stay again as the location is so convenient.Many thanks

Reviewer:Tracey M | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 4 years ago


wholesome and friendly and good location - Rating 4/5

Wholesome, friendly and tasteful. Great location, quiet street quick to seafront and restaurants of good standard. We opted to walk to and from historic areas and take ferry boats to local areas on day trips, all great and easy to do. The life sports Centre and park with pitch and put was used by us too. Would suit swimmer's and sports persons to stay here as Jan cooks breakfast to suit your needs. Some tiredness in deco and our bathroom was not really good enough, it was just a cupboard in our room and was too small and dark and noisey, but I think we were unlucky compared to other rooms we saw. Our son's bathroom was great and so we used his most of all. Lovely cotton sheets. Jan made it all very welcoming and that was the winning aspect for us as will as the location being so convenient and the decor not being pretentious but having some items of character. Loved the breakfast room too.

Reviewer:Candida M | Thu 28th May 2015 | 4 years ago


very nice stop - Rating 5/5

Very nice situation, very nice welcoming, very nice sleeping and very nice breakfast!Bathroom too short

Reviewer:Jean Luc Van Den H | Thu 28th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Good decision - Rating 5/5

Perfectly located, warm welcome, nice rooms.

Reviewer:Mr. Matthias M | Thu 21st May 2015 | 4 years ago


Happy to recommend - Rating 4/5

Lovely b&b in a quiet area of Grand Parade. Made to feel very welcome, room was large &spotlessly clean. Good size bathroom with full size shower. Superb breakfast set us up for the day. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Allan Van L | Mon 11th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Rusty Anchor - Rating 4/5

Arrived on bicycles after 50 mile ride,secure storage for bikes was provided.A warm welcome from the owner who was helpful and generous. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the breakfast contained local sausage and bacon.The only fault was I had to ask for an hairdryer and soap as limited toiletries were supplied.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris W | Thu 23rd Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely guesthouse - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight ready to visit Plymouth Univ with our son. Clean, comfy bedroom with adjoining single room, ideal for our son. Tasty, full English breakfast served by Jan, the owner who was very friendly.Hope to stay again when our son goes to uni.

Reviewer:Suzanne B | Sat 21st Feb 2015 | 4 years ago


Great stay at the rusty anchor - Rating 5/5

Great last minute place to stay with teenage kids. Warm welcome, nice room and breakfast. Thank you!

Reviewer:Sarah P | Sun 30th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely Guest house - Rating 5/5

Warm &Friendly welcome, rooms we clean and tidy and a good night's sleep. Breakfast was excellent. What more can you ask for with overnight stay, will stay again when in Plymouth ...

Reviewer:Kevin E | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


A recommander - Rating 5/5

Très bon accueil, hôtesse prévenante et souriante - décoration très agréable, établissement convivial

Reviewer:Claude Le G | Wed 1st Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Top Class- Rating 5/5

Our fourth stay at the Rusty Anchor , this time we were in Plymouth for our son's graduation.We had a lovely time in Plymouth ,the weather was perfect the graduation ceremony on The Hoewas excellent . Our stay at The Rusty Anchor was top class , Jan the owner is the reason we go back again and again to this Bed and Breakfast , she genuinely cares about the standard of service she gives , the Rusty Anchor accommodation is clean , comfortable and cheerful . Jan's English breakfasts are unbeatable . Even though our son has graduated we intend to revisit Plymouth for weekends away and will stay at the Rusty Anchor again which has become a home from home .

Response

Thank you both so much for your kind words....such a pleasure having you

Reviewer:Mr. Tim A | Tue 30th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Good - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for the second time and both times has been a very pleasant stay, clean and a good breakfast would stay again

Reviewer:Mrs. Sharon P | Mon 29th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


plymouth - Rating 5/5

It was really nice to stay at your cosy BB. We really enjoyed it. Jaan was very kind and helpful. The location of the BB is perfect, and delicious breakfast.. We hope to come backsoon again

Reviewer:Isabel Ribes K | Thu 25th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Great bike friendly B&B - Rating 4/5

We stayed here during a cycle tour, and specifically picked the Rusty Anchor as it was listed as bike friendly.We weren't disappointed, our bikes were welcomed into the back garden and kept safe for the night!Comfy room, good breakfast, friendly welcome and cute cat as a bonus.Oh, great location too, especially for ferry passengers but close to the Hoe and Barbican as well.

Reviewer:Mrs. Katy C | Fri 19th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Great B & B - Rating 5/5

Jan the landlady was great couldn't do enough for you, breakfast was lovely plenty off it. Room was comfy. would go back to stay again if we ever come to Plymouth again.

Reviewer:Margaret M | Wed 17th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Rusty Anchor - Rating 5/5

The proprietor is very friendly and willing to be of help in any way she could. The house was clean and comfortable and breakfast good. it was lovely to walk straight out on to the Hoe Promenade We would be happy to stay there again when visiting Plymouth.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith D | Thu 11th Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


Warm welcome. - Rating 4/5

We were warmly welcomed when we arrived and found this B&B of good quality and in a great location.We would recommend this Guest House as an excellent choice of accommodation over and above most of the hotels in the area!

Reviewer:Mrs. Kim E | Mon 1st Sep 2014 | 5 years ago


highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Excellent in all, such as rooms , location, helpful staff and good breakfast

Reviewer:Kevin M | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Very cute place - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the Rusty Anchor during the bank holiday weekend and the place was just lovely, including our hostess. Breakfast was top notch and we were very comfortable. Highly recommend! :)

Reviewer:Miina H | Tue 26th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Very pleasant - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant. Welcoming landlady, offered us tea and cake on arrival. Compact room and tiny bathroom but all very adequate. Good breakfast in sunny and bright dining room. Good location.

Reviewer:CLAIRE M | Sat 23rd Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


fireworks - Rating 4/5

Clean, tidy room. House lovely, spacious dining room and open plan kitchen - food lovely. Ideal location for the fireworks on the Hoe and of course, all round Plymouth.

Reviewer:VIRGINIA J | Thu 14th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


Helen & Ian - August 2nd 2014 - Rating 5/5

Loved this place.We stayed in Room 3 - nicely fitted out, spacious, great view.Lovely hostess. Great location. Good breakfast. We will definitely stay again as we frequently visit Plymouth due to my partner's Grandaughter living there.

Reviewer:Miss. Helen P | Tue 5th Aug 2014 | 5 years ago


rusty anchor - Rating 4/5

Jan was Really friendly and welcombing,nice clean room,family room was nice and big,with small seperate room within which was good,area was nice and quietGreat place 2 stay 4 the boatClose 2 the barbican and hoe

Reviewer:Joanne C | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


rusty anchor - Rating 4/5

Jan was Really friendly and welcombing,nice clean room,family room was nice and big,with small seperate room within which was good,area was nice and quietGreat place 2 stay 4 the boatClose 2 the barbican and hoe

Reviewer:Joanne C | Wed 30th Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent welcome, rustic and homely - Rating 5/5

Jan is such a welcoming host and the rooms were immaculate. Being situated right near the coast,the Rusty Anchor Guesthouse was in a stunning location. In the morning, it was nice to wake up to a home cooked full English breakfast to start our day.As we came back a bit later in the evening from dinner we didn't manage to catch the wifi code, but that's OK.I would definitely recommend the Rusty Anchor Guesthouse! It was a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Kelly Ah Chin K | Thu 3rd Jul 2014 | 5 years ago


service - Rating 5/5

having first been astonished at the prospect of a double booking and being requested to share! - The proprietor managed to correct the situation.Our bedrooms were clean, comfortable and quiet.Followed by a very enjoyable full English breakfast.Convenient position for The Hoe and Barbican made this guest house an excellent choice.

Reviewer:Maryon L | Mon 30th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Lovely and quirky B&B - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely stay for 1 night at The Rusty Anchor as was meeting my daughter who is at Plymouth University. Owner was very friendly and even gave me £1 for parking as I didn't have any change. (Parking outside is free from 4pm to 10am so only had to pay for an hour). Nice, cosy, quirky house in pretty area and close to all amenities. Thank you.

Reviewer:Nicola W | Mon 23rd Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Good budget guesthouse - Rating 4/5

Lovely friendly clean budget guesthouse. Felt I should have been asked how I wanted my eggs as mine were hard fried and it was a bit cold,Parking on the Hoe great as free from 4pm till 10am

Reviewer:Ms. Tina W | Wed 18th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Good budget B&B - Rating 4/5

Good value, clean room and warm welcome. Easy parking and access to Hoe.

Reviewer:Nora C | Wed 18th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Excellent hospitality- Rating 4/5

One night in Plymouth after a long day cycling from Ohehampton, great warm welcome, very comfortable bed, excellent breakfast.. Recommended.. And will stay again..

Reviewer:Mr. Mark B | Sun 15th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly enjoyable stay, Jan creates a very different kind of B &B experience, a relaxed and friendly experience that is low key and natural. I felt energised!

Reviewer:Chris B | Thu 5th Jun 2014 | 5 years ago


Good location in Plymouth - Rating 5/5

Lovely house and very pleasant landlady. Nice location close to Barbican. I really recommend this place.

Reviewer:Mr. Ladislav C | Fri 30th May 2014 | 5 years ago


3rd stay at Rusty Anchor - Rating 5/5

This was the third time we had stayed at the Rusty Anchor in the last three years and we will be staying again at the Rusty Anchor later in the year when our son graduates from Plymouth University . We found a real gem when we first stayed at the Rusty Anchor and when visiting Plymouth we would not consider staying anywhere else. The accommodation is clean , convenient for the Hoe and above all Jan the proprietor takes real pride in her business and could not be more helpful , kind and welcoming . Her cooked breakfasts are also very scrummy !

Reviewer:Mr. Tim A | Tue 13th May 2014 | 5 years ago


great place.- Rating 5/5

Lovely stay, food and proprietor excellent, will stay again soon. Ideal location for the hoe.

Reviewer:Mrs. Linda B | Mon 12th May 2014 | 5 years ago


home away from home - Rating 5/5

What a gem of a guest home with the most extraordinary owner. Was welcomed as if we were part of the family. The rooms are beyond beautiful and comfy and the breakfasts were amazing.Would highly recommend the peaceful rest and wonderful hostess .

Reviewer:Courtney R | Tue 6th May 2014 | 5 years ago


great accomodation - Rating 5/5

central place, very nice management, great room. Absolutely satisfied

Reviewer:Dario T | Tue 8th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Really nice stay - Rating 5/5

We were made so welcome right from the start and nothing was too much trouble. Small but comfortable room in quiet location and excellent breakfast. Would certainly go again if in Plymouth.

Reviewer:Michael E | Mon 17th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


sunny Plymouth - Rating 5/5

we had a wonderful stay at the rusty anchor, with a warm welcome and generous care. The room was cosy, clean and individually arranged, breakfast was great with homebaked bread.

Reviewer:Stephanie H | Thu 13th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

I had a most pleasant stay! Nice room, impeccably kept up place and wonderful breakfast served by the nicest landlady.

Reviewer:Matthias N | Thu 13th Mar 2014 | 5 years ago